Northampton Moment #1

I’m standing in line at the post office. The two women behind me are having a conversation. I don’t know either one. I’m eavesdropping, because there isn’t anything better to do while waiting in line.

The first asks, “Are you still tutoring? I have a friend who is looking for a tutor for her daughter.”

Therein follows a conversation about why she is doing less tutoring these days.

The first woman then says, “I’m not sure when her Bat Mitzvah is. They just set the date, it’s at Beit Ahavah.”

Now I pipe in, because, really, I have to.

“Hi, I’m the B’nei Mitzvah coordinator at Beit Ahavah. I can tell you when her date is.” And I did.

No one in this town is more than one degree of separation from anyone else in town, and apparently, every other person is Jewish.

This entry was posted in Northampton Moment. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Northampton Moment #1

  1. Margaret Miller says:

    and some call ME the mayor (unofficially of course) but it’s really YOU. Or maybe you are the supreme rabbi of the entire Jewish community…

  2. funny, she didn’t look Jewish. (oh I hope Hosie Baskin clicks on the comments).

  3. Naomi says:

    That’s been my experience. I have far more Jewish friends here than I did in Brooklyn.

  4. Hosie says:

    I may be late to the party, but I just want to note, for the record, that I am oh so proud of Sarah. Punchline references do not come easy to her.

Leave a Reply

