Snowball

In February, we took a trip to the Boston Museum of Fine Arts. As art museums go, it’s reasonably priced: $20 for each adult, free for the kids. It is also spectacular, especially the new American Wing. Chuck had his iPod along, which we approved. He loves music and is generally happy in any context if he can listen. Plus, he actually enjoys art museums, so we’re easy going about it.

Chuck was recovering from a cold, and sat down for a rest in the Egyptian Wing (specifically, the Etruscan Gallery). Later, in the American Wing, just as I was thinking how incredibly happy I was to be there, Chuck approached me, looking ashen. His iPod was gone. It had probably slipped out of his hoodie pocket when he sat down. I proceed to spend the next 45 minutes running back and forth through the Saturday museum crowds, looking in the places we had stopped, and checking with guards and the lost and found. At the end of the search I was cranky, exhausted, and empty handed. I was also appalled that someone who would go to the MFA would keep a lost iPod rather than turn it in.

We were appropriately annoyed at Chuck’s carelessness, but mostly broken-hearted, knowing how much he loved the iPod. (And, I should state for the record, he had managed not to lose it in two and a half years). Our solution: when we could afford it, we’d buy me a new iPod and he could have my old one. Six weeks later, with some freelance projects paid and taxes done, (and enough time for Chuck to suffer just a little), I had a new iPod, and he did too. (Also let the record show that the first thing he asked upon taking ownership was: “Can I get a iTunes gift card to buy some more music.” Acquisitive wretch).

I wanted the pink iPod, but bought the green one, knowing that someday I’d probably be passing it to a boy again, and I’m only wiling to torture them so much. The new iPod is tiny—about an inch and a half square and thinner than a Peppermint Patty. I’m contemplating gluing it to my old Walkman so that I don’t lose it (or inadvertently eat it).

As soon as we plugged the iPod into my laptop (purchased in 2007), we discovered that the operating system couldn’t support it. We’d known for a while that I needed a new operating system (Snow Leopard), but also knew that I would need a new hard drive to support that. So, we accepted our fate and the hard drive was purchased and installed by my handy husband.

Then, of course, we realized that the computer doesn’t have enough memory to support Snow Leopard, and we’d have to buy more. Then, as I’m sure you’ve been anticipating, we realized that we’d need to buy a new version of the iLife suite of programs because the old ones won’t work with the new system.

Mmmm, delicious.

Turned out to be the most expensive damned trip to an art museum ever.

This entry was posted in Adventuring Beyond Northampton. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snowball

  1. Just stay home. Works for me. Until the toilet breaks. Or the sewer pipe. Or the climber.

  2. Good god, would a new computer have been cheaper? Modern life is rubbish. It would have been funnier if you’d caught Chuck on his knees in the backyard praying to find the iPod.

  3. This is painful. I’ve done that before. My brother in law once spilled coffee on his Mac laptop and ruined it. He calls it the most expensive cup of coffee he ever bought.

Leave a Reply

